Home » Uncategorized » Kindle Vs. Books

Kindle Vs. Books

My mom and hubby both have kindles. Hubby upgraded to a Kindlefire and loves it. I have to admit, being able to get onto the internet and not leave my couch when you don’t have a laptop is nice at times. (That’s me being lazy not him)He loves his and it is nice. I got his kindle touch and that is nice as well, though I have to admit, I’ve had it since Christmas and I have only read 3 books from it. Yep, that’s it. I’m still reading from the good old fashioned page turning, physical books….since when did books become old fashioned?

Kindles do have their advantage, like for instance they are light weight and easy to carry. yes, I could have knocked someone out with the City of Bones book I was carrying around. Seriously, that sucker is pretty big.

Image
Kindles are nice to pack on trips because they take up less space in a suitcase. Let’s face it, if you are a woman you need all the space you can get when packing a suitcase. But, for me, there is nothing better than being able to hold an actual book. Books do not freeze or take you all the way back to page number 8 when you were on page 37. You can’t break it when you throw it halfway across the room after hearing a thump outside when it’s 2am and you are still up reading the latest by David Wellington.

Lastly, and this might sound a little crazy, but there is nothing better than the smell of a book store….ok maybe the smell of coffee brewing or a lasagna cooking in the oven, but you get my meaning. And no, I don’t walk into a book store and look like a dog who has his head hanging out the window sniffing the breeze. At least, I hope I don’t. Hmmm….

So, I will keep my kindle, but I think for now anyway, I will stick to mainly reading an actual book.

Leave a Reply

